In Kelly’s Corner by Roxie Rivera

InKelly'sCornerIn Kelly’s Corner – Written by Roxie Rivera

Reading Source: Amazon
Series: Fighting Connollys
Book #: 1
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Rating: 3.5 out of 5

I’m guilty of committing one of the biggest book sins out there. I judge a book by it’s cover. I do it all the time, and often times it sets me up for disappointment. Just by looking at this cover you’d think that it was about a boxer (well… I did – I mean look at the boxer and the boxing ring on the cover). Then I committed sin number 2 – I made assumptions based on the title. I thought that Kelly would be the damsel in distress and somehow, someway, the boxer on the cover would save her.

Oh boy, was I wrong. Let me start by saying that Kelly is a dude. The “damsel in distress” is actually named Beatrice, who goes by Bee. And she really doesn’t need “saving.” Bee’s always had a thing for Kelly, but lately he’s been avoiding her. Bee made a move and because Kelly was bff with her now dead brother, he doesn’t want to break some guy code. Only Bee’s got a stalker, and Kelly’s military background and current job as a bodyguard/security dude is the perfect solution to her problems. What I haven’t told you is that Bee is a computer genius and is loaded. When Kelly agrees to help Bee, because of a promise he made her brother while they were in the military together, he didn’t expect her to get dragged in to his family problems. (His family problems are where the boxing reference comes in.) His dad has a major gambling problem.

I enjoyed this while I was reading it. There were a few instances where I guessed what was going to happen, not something I really enjoy. However, sometimes the only conclusion is a logical one. I’d rather certain points be a tiny bit predictable than outlandishly unpredictable. Overall, I’d say this was more light suspense/romance. I liked it, but I didn’t like it enough to continue on with the series, at least not at this point. Maybe I’ll change my mind in the future. Anything is possible.

Leave a Reply

