Fool Me Once Series by Tara Sivec


Series: Fool Me Once

Book 1: Shame on You (Kennedy & Griffin)
Book 2: Shame on Me (Paige & Matt)
Book 3: Shame on Him (Lorelei & Dallas)
Author: Tara Sivec
Reading Source: Kindle Unlimited
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

While I wasn’t really impressed with Ms. Sivec’s book Seduction and Snacks (it may have been the narrator on the audiobook), I enjoyed these three books. I read them as I believe they were intended, as fun quick reads. These three women have been duped by the men in their lives so much so that they have all sworn off men, at least that’s what they decided at first…

Kennedy is a veteran back from Afghanistan. What she didn’t expect to see when she got home was her husband, balls deep in the nanny. Needless to say, she dropped him like a bad habit. Shortly there after she started “Fool Me Once Investigations,” a private investigator firm. Kennedy is handed a bail-jumper case that is a little odd. Factor in that she’s now being forced to work with a new-guy bond enforcer. Only this guy isn’t so new – he’s her cheating ex-husband’s best friend – Griffin.

Former model Paige doesn’t just want to sit there and look pretty anymore. After her husband gambled away everything they had, Paige got rid of him and got a new life. Sort of. She’s still sitting and looking pretty, only now she’s catching cheating husbands. She wants more of a challenge though. In walks Matt, he’s supposed to be just the next cheating husband Paige is catching. Only he’s not reacting like they normally do, and he’s bummed too. Something’s wrong in the State of Denmark, and Paige going to find out what it is.

Lorelei is a good girl. She always does what is expected, never drinks too much, never swears – that is on the outside. Inside she wants to be free to do what she wants. She’s always done what her domineering parents have thought was the best course of action. Lorelei’s not so sure they’ve been right. After all, they still believes that if she would have worked harder on her marriage it somehow would have prevented her ex-husband from blowing a waiter at their favorite restaurant. While coming to terms with the fact that her ex-husband is gay – and getting remarried – Lorelei is doing what she can at Fool Me Once Investigations. When she discovers a dead body when delivering a court summons, Dallas is assigned to investigate the murder. But Dallas may be more than Lorelei can handle without breaking out of her good-girl shell.

Overall the stories were fun and (best of all) funny. I could talk about the weak points of believability – but this is fiction!!! I enjoyed them. They were quick reads, but entertaining enough where I read them one right after the other.

If you’re looking for something quick, funny and a little bit steamy – then these books are for you.

I’m going to go back to Seduction and Snacks and read it – rather than listen. I’m pretty sure I won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s